A major reason why companies hesitate to invest in SEO is that they don’t achieve consistent results. But it’s not the way it sounds. SEO can be answer to what it takes to achieve consistent organic traffic and growth in branding and digital impressions.
Like all goals to meet its objective, there has to be plan and constant monitoring and analysis, so here we discuss how the ROI on SEO projects within the organization or with agency can be reviewed.
On Many occasions, the measurement of SEO stops at tracking KPIs like traffic and ranking positions, calculating ROI can be much bigger than just viewing reports and being happy or unhappy about it.
Understanding SEO Investments
Any SEO project for your website involves two major investments such as resources, internal resources and that from an SEO agency, tools that we use for SEO keyword planning, traffic analysis etc,
Tracking Website Traffic and Conversions
Once you start activity over SEO plan, you need to monitor the organic traffic and measure the conversions. Google Analytics integration from the day your website goes live is the best step to be done to achieve this.
A typical website and the one that has ecommerce or online ordering is involved can be tracked differently. If you are running an e-commerce website, go ahead and turn on the ecommerce setup in Google analytics to get definite metrics, You can segment the shopping behaviour, checkout behaviours and sales performance on products as parameters to measure conversions.
Lead Generation Conversions
In a typical scenario where you are looking to do lead generation from your website, it’s difficult to put a conversion figure as it involves just collecting persons contact details mostly and is taken offline. Not every lead turns out to be a paying customer.
However Google analytics allows you to set goals to convert it as a revenue, acquisition, inquiry or engagement to segment and put a conversion figure and set a monetary value for every goal you meet up.
Google Analytics provides various ways to setup monetary gains for every goal achieved.
Calculating Return on Investments
Now that we have figured our investment and revenue, let’s drag to calculate what could be your monthly ROI.
Assuming you spend about RS. 40000 on SEO activities in a month and the revenue generated was Rs. 2,00,000 then the ROI calculation goes like below
(Rs.200, 000–Rs.40, 000) / Rs.40,000 = 4
This simply means for every 1Rs spent on SEO is yielding a return of 4Rs. It simply converts to an ROI of 400% in the month.
These steps and formula can be used as base to calculate the ROI of your SEO campaign across any interval you choose. Knowing the ROI of your SEO efforts is powerful way to communicate to your client and give future projects and budgeting for further SEO impetus.
Eneblur Consulting believes that any SEO effort should be executed and monitored with definite goals and strategy. We are managing SEO goals for 15+ clients for past 2 years, we rope in with client every month and apprise him over the analytics, reporting and future projections. Our Success with SEO projects in Hubli Dharwad as well as with overseas clients stays as our testimony to the dedication we carry for the golden way of bringing organic traffic and conversions with websites of any size and dynamism.